Remnant 2: Difficulty – Which to Choose?

Remnant 2: Difficulty - Which to Choose?

Remnant II Difficulty Options: A Fun and Challenging Journey

With the release of the highly anticipated game, Remnant II, gamers are buzzing with excitement and curiosity about the game’s quality and difficulty. We all know that difficulty in Soulslike games is always a hot topic of discussion, especially when a new title hits the market. And let’s face it, the first Remnant game was a walk in the park until a certain point. So, brace yourselves for a thrilling dive into the four difficulty options that Remnant II offers, and buckle up to choose the one that suits you best based on your gaming experience!

The Four Difficulty Options

Remnant II Difficulty Options

Let’s get straight to the nitty-gritty. Remnant II offers four difficulty options, with three being selectable from the start. The granddaddy of them all, Apocalypse, is only unlocked after completing the game once on any difficulty. Each difficulty setting rewards players with bonus experience per kill, but mobs and bosses become more challenging to take down in return.

Difficulty Name Mob Bonus HP Mob Bonus Damage Boss Bonus HP Boss Bonus Damage Bonus Experience
Survivor 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%
Veteran 150% 165% 165% 165% 115%
Nightmare 250% 350% 312.5% 262.5% 130%
Apocalypse 175% 450% 412.5% 405% 150%

Now, for those familiar with the first Remnant game, you’ll notice that these difficulty options mirror those of its predecessor. However, don’t be fooled into thinking they are equally challenging. Early experiences from players of all kinds have unanimously agreed that Remnant II takes the difficulty to a whole new level compared to the original.

Which One Should Players Choose?

Remnant II Promotional Image

Now comes the million-dollar question: which difficulty option should you choose? Of course, the answer depends on what you’re looking for in Remnant II, your prior gaming experiences, and, let’s be honest, a little bit of personal bravado. Here’s a handy general guide to help you pick the perfect difficulty:

  • Survivor: This is for the brave souls venturing into the world of Soulslike games for the first time or who haven’t played the first Remnant. Consider it a friendly welcome to the Remnant universe, challenging but still rewarding. Prepare to die, but not too much.

  • Veteran: For Remnant: From the Ashes players and Soulslike veterans, this difficulty option turns up the heat. Enemies will be tougher, deal more damage, take more hits, and bosses will make your palms sweat. If Normal difficulty felt a bit too easy for you, buckle up for the Veteran challenge.

  • Nightmare: If Normal difficulty in Remnant: From the Ashes left you feeling underwhelmed, Nightmare is your calling. Brace yourself, because the jump in difficulty from Veteran to Nightmare is not for the faint-hearted. The rewards will be worth it, but be ready for some serious punishment.

  • Apocalypse: Step into the realm of true gaming masochism with Apocalypse. This difficulty option is not for the weak-willed or easily frustrated. It’s a challenge for those who relish overcoming seemingly insurmountable odds. Good luck, you’ll need it.

Now, let’s delve a little deeper into each difficulty option to understand what sets them apart from one another.


Remnant II Survivor Difficulty

Survivor difficulty is perfect for those embarking on their Remnant journey for the very first time. It’s a warm hug of an experience, crafted to be approachable and fulfilling. Don’t be fooled, though – it’s no walk in the park. Expect moments of challenge and plenty of deaths, but you’ll come out stronger on the other side.


Remnant II Veteran Difficulty

Veteran difficulty is where the true Soulslike fans and seasoned Remnant players find their sweet spot. You’ll level up faster, but the enemies won’t go down without a fight. They’ll hit harder, take more hits, and bosses will test your skills like never before. If Normal difficulty was a walk in the park, Veteran is the rollercoaster ride you’ve been waiting for.


Remnant II Nightmare Difficulty

Nightmare difficulty is the proving ground for Remnant: From the Ashes veterans who found Normal difficulty a mere warm-up. Brace yourself, because this is where things get seriously tough. Expect percentage increases in enemy damage and boss health that will make your head spin. Nightmare is a challenge for the brave-hearted, only conquered by those with strong builds and unyielding determination.


Remnant II Apocalypse Difficulty

Apocalypse difficulty was a post-launch treat in the original Remnant game, but it’s right here from the start in Remnant II. You’ll need to defeat the game once on any difficulty to unlock this ultimate test. Brace yourself for extreme challenges and prepare to be thrown around like a ragdoll. Only the most dedicated and masochistic players need apply.

Remnant II is a game that promises an unforgettable gaming experience. So, pick your difficulty, gather your courage, and get ready for the adventure of a lifetime. Good luck, heroes!

Remnant II is coming to PC, PS5, and Xbox Series X/S on July 25, 2023.

More Gaming Awesomeness: Exciting Upcoming Games If You Want A Space Adventure